Angkor Wat

Angkor Wat sure not only a huge temples area listed in UNESCO World Heritage with bunch of tourists clicking their cameras nor locals trying to sell you bracelets and shirts every single road turn ; or maybe a parade of Tuk-tuk on every parking area. Being a national pride of Cambodia’s diplomatic relations and physical prove of the great Khmer people since Angkor reign , Angkor Wat turns to be one of the most visited spot in Cambodia – with 25$ entrance for a day trip around this Hindu – Theravada Buddhist temples. Though it looks like a paradox with the kids exploitation to work and sell things for visitors inside the temples area – no wonder Angelina Jolie had sentimental mood to adopt a Khmer kid.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I bought only 1 day trip ticket to enter this massive area as I have no idea how I will like to see temples, temples, and temples on my view range. With my smiling Tuk-tuk driver, we had a deal for the price to take me around the main temples inside the Angkor Wat ; at least I figured out later he brought me to the highlight parts with cameras all around. I noticed Angkor Wat is the name of the main giant temple inside the area, while the other smaller temples and ruins scatteres few kilometres away and takes time to move into one another – even with Tuk-tuk !

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Then for me it was a good deal to get only 1 day, as I didn’t want to spend more bucks and time to walk around the ruins which looks similar for me hehe.. But I met people who spent like a week inside Angkor Wat. I thought they were doing things like laying on the grass, enjoying the breeze, cycling around the areas and wished to find a secret path to kingdom treasures, or simply want to spend time on “different” place. The thing is, I spotted that they didn’t do all those ideas, the fact is they rather to rent bicycle and cycling around the temples area over and over during 1 week. Or my favourite encounter is some people taking mariyuana or weed and enjoy their blissful moments surrounded with the ruins.. lol…

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Despite all those temples and ruins which is the result of great kingdom from past, another attraction is the fact that the jungle around the area which increase the number of ruins. The war between Khmer and Thai hundred years ago had left Angkor Wat abandoned. And while it was abandoned, the temples lies undiscovered and the jungle around keeps growing  with massive trees and roots. This is another reason why in Tomb Raider they set the story on the spot with huge roots coming out and try to swallow the temples – to show the other eyes delicacy instead of temples and ruins only.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

What a giant abandoned kingdom treasure!

Leave a Reply

