Vietnamese Delicacies

SONY DSC

Pho

Vietnam… Why I choose to visit this country? Despite all those commercial reasons such as landscapes (which I didn’t find it so interesting) , the people, or other reasons ; I found that I fell in love with Vitnamese food!

Maybe you already tried some vietnamese cuisine in your place but when you try the real on on its country, it is DELISH! I just can’t hold my mouth-watering mood while I passed some food stores on any street vendors there, especially when those food started to smell really good and tasty.. yummmm….

Various clams and mussels

Various clams and mussels

Dried Squid

Dried Squid

Since Vietnam has long beaches, no wonder their nature contribute as one in southeast Asia countries which has high rate of marine production. Fishes, squids, clams, crustaceas, and more yummy seafood. Meanwhile, as Vietnam has direct border with China, I noticed a lot of chinese touch on their cuisines ; porks. They know how to cook all parts of pork. Intestines, livers, ears, even the prok’s head.. ayayay..

Squid Pancake

Squid Pancake

SONY DSC

Pork RIbs BBQ

Chuc Mung - Pork Live Porridge

Chuc Mung – Pork Live Porridge

While I enjoyed all those yummy yummy food on street vendor or in any cozy restaurants, still the best compliment for those foods is Vietnamese Coffee!

I experienced myself to drink coffee after finished my meals and even for an afternoon break or a quick siesta time on the street vendor. Vietnamese loves to serve their coffee on their traditional pressing cup and always pour a bit of condensed milk instead of sugar. Tasty!

Cafe

Cafe

I also noticed there’s still some french culture left and adapted by local Vietnamese. And those frenchie or other european touch also influenced the way they prepare breakfast and food. Baguette with ham and cheese filling completed with some local herbs and veggie will remind you on some quick take away breakfast from any cafe on european countries. Well, and there’s always time to sip some beers..

Banh Mi (baguette) and Saigon Beer

Banh Mi (baguette) and Saigon Beer

(spicy) Fettucini ?

(spicy) Fettucini ?

And we’re in Asia now!!!!!! so there must an epic food!!!!!… and after spiders and cocroaces in Phnom Penh , I tried another epic food in Hanoi. It looks like a normal bird egg at first, but then I figured it’s an embrio inside with their soon-to-be-wings and bones.. ayayay

I wasn’t push myself to be a might wonder woman who tried every crazy food, but sure it made me curious on how it tastes. So I had to close my eyes and grinned to people who sat around me and chewed it right away.. ah! it’s crunchy! lol.. It doesn’t taste so nasty tho, but yeah it’s still felt creepy for me to have it again..

*&^%$^#$

*&^%$^#$

3 thoughts on “Vietnamese Delicacies

  1. ^ – ^ so happy to know that you love Vietnam as well as our food, Oh , you even tried “trứng cút lộn” <– I mean the *&^%$^#$ egg 🙂

    There is a bigger version of this one which is call "hột vịt lột" – duck 's egg , yup it's quite…..@%$!@# for the first glance, but if you overcome this feeling , the taste may somehow delicious ^ v ^ Many friends of mine addict to this kind of food , though!

    • as I tried to taste more foods in Vietnam, I found that all foods in your country is tasty and exotic! 😀
      well, even the strange and bizzare food also yumm tho.. even the first time I saw the egg I was ughhh…. I adore Vietnamese food! 🙂

      • ^ – ^ that’s very nice of you saying this ! I love to try new food (or things), you know, no matter if they may become my favorite dish or not (or if I will have to spend a day in the ..wc or not)

Leave a Reply

